zondag 15 februari 2009

Franz Schmidt (1874-1939) - The String Quartets - Franz Schubert Quartett

Opname 1996

"Franz Schmidt was born in the Austrian city of Pressburg (now Bratislava) and began his musical training there. Subsequently, in Vienna, he studied cello with Franz Hellmesberger and piano with Theodor Leschetizky. At the Vienna Conservatory, his composition teachers were Robert Fuchs and Anton Bruckner. Schmidt served as a cellist in the Vienna Court Opera Orchestra (1896-1911) and played under Mahler. From the First World War until his retirement, he held many important teaching posts, eventurally serving as the director of theVienna Staatsakademie as well as Hochschule für Musik.

Schmidt's roots are to be found in the Viennese Romanticism of his master Bruckner. Although not a prolific composer, he is nonetheless considered the last of the great romantic symphonists. His four chamber music works—2 string quartets, a piano quintet and a quintet for piano, clarinet and string trio--are among his most important." www.editionsilvertrust.com on their webpage about the first string quartet, with soundbytes

Franz Schubert Quartett, Wien

Florian Zwiauer, viool
Helge Rosenkranz, viool
Hartmut Pascher, altviool
Vincent Stadlmair, cello

Strijkquartet in A majeur (1925)
1. I Anmutig bewegt [12:25]
2. II Adagio [10:55]
3. III Scherzo. Sehr lebhaft [6:09]
4. IV Ruhig fließend [9:13]

Strijkquartet in G majeur (1929)
5. I Molto tranquillo [12:36]
6. II Adagio [10:45]
7. III Scherzo. Allegro vivace [8:57]
8. IV Allegro [6:38]

Download (369 MB): Deel I --- Deel II --- Deel III --- Deel IV
of via Mediafire

4 opmerkingen:

WMS.Nemo zei

Thank you for this rare piece of music!

AltvioolToon zei

Many thanks for this music.

Kan ik ergens een gebruiksaanwijzing vinden als ik een eigen weblog zou willen maken?

Scion zei

Please re-load file: Fra_Sch_---The_Str_Qua.part1

Part 1 is missing.

Audentity zei

I realize that you've probably abandoned this blog, but any chance of a re-up for this? Thanks!